About the Hub

Table of Contents

 

Users need the Engage module to use the Hub.

 

Business case

Workspace is originally designed to be a complete digital workspace solution, bringing together everything a company needs in one place. Various customers have shown there is an increased desire for a central point of information for streamlined internal communication, within the confines of the workspace. It must be possible to offer both dynamic and static information, and for employees to place and respond to comments, driving social interaction.

With no viable alternatives that offer this in one easy-to-use package, we created The Hub, which consists of:

 

Introduction

Stay up to date on important news, enhance collaboration, improve productivity, and access effortlessly all the information you need in one convenient location. A dedicated page for the Hub unlocks a more efficient (streamlined) and connected work experience. The Hub consists of Announcements, Knowledge articles and Events.

hub aug 2023.png

 

Permissions

Be aware who you allow to create them, because giving too many people control might lead to a notification overload.

Option 1: Per category

In general, you want to limit the level of user permissions to create announcements, knowledge articles or events. Permissions are often given per category, which means a user can create articles within a specific category. We differentiate between a 'Category editor' or 'Category owner':

  • Category editor: determine who can create, edit and delete announcements, knowledge articles or events within a specific category.
  • Category owner: determine who can create, edit and delete announcements, knowledge articles or events within a specific category and manage the category itself.

 

Option 2: Group permissions

Workspace admins can also set group permissions for the Hub. This can be done in two ways:

  • Group management (recommended): set permissions for a single group and all members of that group
  • Group permissions: set the overarching permissions for all workspace groups

Please note that these group permissions count for all items and categories in that section of the Hub. Permissions for individual categories can be set on the category itself as described above.

Group permissions can be experienced as complicated and you want to avoid permission conflicts. We have dedicated an article to explain this topic in detail: Understand and manage user permissions in Workspace 365.

TheHubPermissions.png

Back to top

 

Best Practices

Default view

You can choose to show a certain category as the default view, instead of showing all announcements, knowledge articles and events. This is a choice that varies by organization and usually depends on the size of the company and the number of items being published. Which means you must take into account the maximum number of items that can be displayed in the live tile for each layout (carousel-, tile- or list layout).

Larger tile size

To make workspace more visually appealing, or if you want to draw more attention to important information (this mainly applies to Intranet customers), you can extend the Hub live tile over two columns.

larger tile sizes.gif

 

Add the Hub live tile more than once

You can add the Hub live tile several times to workspace. For example, to a Shared space called "Intranet" in which you want to share company information, news and company events. The chosen layout of the live tiles is usually a matter of taste. Sometimes you want to scroll through a list of company news items, while in a second tile you want to see informal news per department or team with fun images.

Global Search

You can use Global Search to quickly find important announcements, knowledge articles and events. 

 

Hide header and/or footer

You can also choose to hide the header and/or footer in the carousel- and tile layout, so that users only see the content of the messages. Most organizations choose to hide this.

hub_1.png hub_2.png

Back to top

 

What if you delete a user from the workspace?

If you delete a user from the workspace, any Hub items the user created will remain intact. However, the "Created" field attached to their items may be impacted:

  • If the user is still in the workspace's "Deleted users", their name will still be listed in the "Created" field of the Hub items they created
  • Once the user is permanently deleted from the workspace, the "Created" field of their Hub items will be blank

Back to top