Modules: Hybrid, Engage and/or Unify

Please refer to the announcement article for more information about the new modules: Introducing our new modules in the release of V4.3.0 on January 11th


Table of Contents

 

Business case

Previously, it was only possible to assign one Workspace subscription (Simplify, Adapt or Boost) to an entire Workspace environment. This posed a limitation for a specific group of users who were unable to test new features or use applications from a different subscription type.

The new modules (Hybrid, Engage and Unify) have been introduced to respond to the latest market developments. This change offers our partners and customers the flexibility to mix-and-match license types based on users' individual needs in the digital workplace.

Back to top

 

About Hybrid, Engage and Unify

Every user needs have a module in order to use their digital workplace. The Workspace administrator can assign one or more modules to users and/or groups, based on the individual needs. The modules page can be accessed from the admin settings under Billing.

Please visit our website for more information about the modules (e.g., pricing).

 

Features

The following features are always included in all modules (Hybrid, Engage and Unify);

  • Activity Feed
  • Calendar
  • Documents
  • Email
  • Global search
  • Single Sign-On
  • User provisioning

The image below depicts which features are included in each module. Apps and tiles will be hidden from the digital workplace if users do not have the required module(s).

modules.png

Back to top

 

Manage default modules for a Workspace environment

For Workspace environments created after January 1st 2024, the default module for new synced/imported users will be set to Engage and the admin will get all modules. For environments created in 2023 or earlier, the default module(s) will assigned according to the migration process.

Instead of manually assigning users to one or more modules, it's possible to manage the default module(s) for an entire Workspace environment. In other words, newly imported users will be assigned the default module(s) automatically. This could save you a lot of time as an administrator.

To manage the default module(s):

  1. Go to the admin settings page.
  2. Go to Billing.
  3. Select Modules.
  4. Click on Manage default modules.

    manage default modules.png

  5. Choose the option Assign modules by default.
  6. Select one or more modules.
  7. Click Save
  8. Confirm your selection.

 

How to add users to modules

Be aware when assigning users to modules, as it may impact the monthly invoice. For more information, please refer to About billing and invoicing.

You can assign users to modules from three different pages:

  1. Modules: assign one or more users simultaneously to a selected module. 
  2. Licensing: assign one or more users simultaneously to one or more modules.
  3. User management: assign a selected user to a selected module.

Tip: When adding users to modules, by default the 'User' list view is opened. Select the 'Group' list view to assign all direct members from a group to a module.

group user.png

 

From the Modules page

From the Licensing page

From the User management page

  1. Go to Billing
  2. Select the Modules page
  3. Click Add users
  4. Or click Manage users if users are already assigned to the module
  5. Click Add users
  6. Select one or more users or groups from the user- or group view.
  7. Click Add
  8. Don't forget to click Save
  9. Confirm your selection. You should see the message: "Your changes have been successfully saved"
  1. Go to Billing
  2. Select the Licensing page
  3. Select one or more users or groups from the user- or group view.
  4. Click on Manage modules
  5. Or Manage modules for direct users for groups
  6. Choose one of these options:
    • Replace all existing modules with new selected modules
    • Assign more modules and keep existing ones
  7. Select the modules you wish to assign
  8. Click Save
  9. Confirm your selection
  1. Go to Users & Groups
  2. Select the User management page
  3. Select one user
  4. Click Edit
  5. Go to the Modules tab
  6. Click Assign for one module at a time
  7. Click Save when you're done

Back to top

 

How to remove users from modules

Removing multiple users from a module simultaneously is only possible from the Licensing page.

From the Modules page

From the Licensing page

From the User management page

  1. Go to Billing
  2. Select the Modules page
  3. Click Manage users for a specific module
  4. Click on the recycle bin icon to remove the module from the user
  5. Click Save when you're done
  1. Go to Billing
  2. Select the Licensing page
  3. Select one or more users or groups from the user- or group view
  4. Click on Manage modules (for direct users)
  5. Choose one of these options:
    • Replace all existing modules with new selected modules
    • Unassign all modules
  6. Select one or more modules to which one of these two options will apply to
  7. Click Save
  8. Confirm your selection
  1. Go to Users & Groups
  2. Select the User management page
  3. Select one user
  4. Click Edit
  5. Go to the Modules tab
  6. Click Unassign for one module at a time
  7. Click Save when you're done

Back to top

 

Best practices

  • To save time, assign imported/synced users to one or more modules automatically by using the option "Manage default modules" from the Modules page.
  • To save time, instead of selecting users individually from the 'User' list view (which is opened by default), select the 'Group' list view to assign all direct members from a group to a module.
  • If you need to replace, assign and/or unassign modules (or a combination of these options), do this from the Licensing page. It will save time to do this from one single page. You will see the following options:
    • Replace all existing modules with new selected modules
    • Assign more modules and keep existing ones
    • Unassign all modules

Back to top