Step 5. Documents
When you're in the Documents app, on the left you see “My documents”. Here you find, as you can tell by the name, your personal (work) files. In this section you can save documents that are convenient for work, but do not necessarily need to be shared with your colleagues.
Below "My Documents" you will see the shared folders. meant for collaboration with others. By saving files in these folders, everything stays neatly and clear in one location and everything is accessible for the people who have the rights to access these particular files and folders.
It’s possible to hide folders in the menu of the document app. This can come in handy when you have access to a lot of folders from other departments, which you never need or use anyway. To hide these folders, you click the eye-icon above the list of folders. After that, you can select which folders you want to show in your document app.
Set the default Office editor
The administrator of an environment can enable or disable the option to open documents with the Office application installed locally. When this function is enabled, the user has the ability to open files in the web editor (online) or via an application installed locally. If one of these options is not available, it will automatically choose the option that is available to you.
Make shortcuts to folders
When accessing files or folders frequently, you want them to be easily accessible. This is why you can bookmark your most important files and folders.
All documents, neatly in one place
- New: easily create a new folder or file (Word, Excel, PowerPoint or OneNote).
- Upload: select a document to upload to the folder you’re active in.
- Sync: you can (if you have the rights to do so) synchronize “My documents” and the shared folders to your device, so you can keep working on your files while you’re offline.
- Open in Word Online: select which application you want to use; this is possible with online (standard) or local Office apps.
- Manage: click "manage" or right-click a file to Delete, Rename, Move or Copy a file.
- Download: save documents to your device. Only do this when necessary, because this increases the risk you’ll lose the file if your device breaks down and colleagues can’t view the file.
- Share: invite colleagues and make a link to share a document with others. This way you can keep collaborating in the same document and you won’t have multiple versions of the same document. If you want a document to be checked by someone else you can also select the option to share a “View only” version, so the other person can’t edit the document. It is important to pay attention when you share a file as “View only” or as “Edit”. You can also send the document as attachment via email. For more information on how to share documents, click here.
- Version history: view the previous versions of the document. You can restore and download any older version below to make it the current version. All other versions will still be saved.