Follow

Shared spaces

 

 

 

Introduction

If you are part of or involved in different teams, have a broad variety of tasks or, of course, when you’re an admin, you also deal with lots of different types of applications and shared groups. Combining all these groups into one dashboard can potentially be experienced as chaotic and result in people having to search for the right apps. 

For these people, we are proudly introducing the Workspace 365 Spaces, which will allow admins to bring more structure to the workspace, for themselves as well as others. Admins can now create Spaces for different user groups. Within these Spaces, shared tile groups can be created.  

When someone gets access to a Space, their current dashboard will become their personal workspace and they can switch between Spaces. This way, they can keep their personal apps separate from apps of different teams, departments or that are meant for certain types of tasks. They also have a consistent experience, which is the same as that of their colleagues 

This new feature is especially valuable to admins, who have a dashboard with literally everyone’s groups and applications. They can now create both their own personal dashboards and those of all other teams, groups or departments. For example, they could create different Spaces for Marketing, Sales, IT Support, Finance, and so on. This allows them to work significantly more organized and orderly.  

These Spaces give the workspace a high level of adaptability. Whenever you create a shared group in a Space and give a person permissions, the group will appear on both the personal dashboard and in the Space in question. This is not always ideal. Therefore, to prevent duplicate shared app groups in personal and shared Spaces, we created the possibility to set a default visibility for shared groups in Personal Spaces. This allows you to choose if a certain shared group is either visible in both Spaces, or in only one of them. 

Another benefit of the new shared Spaces, is that within them, the admin can pin groups to the top of the Space. This means that the admin can determine what someone will see first. In doing so, they can push important app groups to be the most important part of people’s Spaces. 

 

Back to top

 

Hierarchy

SharedSpace_first_flow.png

It's good to understand how the hierarchy works within Workspace 365. You have two kinds of spaces:  Personal and Shared.

Personal Space

The Personal Space, as the name says, is the Personal Space of the user. By default the Personal Space is always available. In this space, the user is able to list all their personal tile groups with apps. This Personal Space can have personal and/or shared tile groups.

Starting from version 3.5.0, the user's "Dashboard" is transformed to the "Personal Space". No changes to the layout of the user's Space are made.

Starting from update 3.12 admins get more control over the workspace, as it will be possible to set permissions on personal spaces. This way, you can determine who in your organisation has access to a personal space, and who doesn’t. 

Starting from update 3.13.0, every user will see all the Shared Spaces. Only these Shared Spaces will contain Shared Groups if the users has the right permissions for them. If the user doesn't have permissions on an Shared Group in the Shared Space this space will be blank.

mceclip0.png

This is especially useful if you have large groups of employees who need the same important applications and information, and need to see them first thing when they login. When that’s all they need and you don’t want them to edit anything in the workspace, the admin can choose to not give these groups permissions to the personal space – so they don’t see it. A shared space becomes the (first) one they see by default. 

When some groups do need a personal space, but the information in the shared space is more important, admins can now also choose to reorder the spaces based on their relevance. So, these people will still have a personal space, but it won’t be the first space they see. 

 

Personal tile group(s)

The personal tile group(s) only consists of personal tiles. These are not controlled by an admin, but as stated, are personal. Personal tile groups can only be listed on Personal Spaces.

  • Example 1:
    If the admin creates a personal tile group with several tiles, this will be the personal group for the admin only. If the admin wants to set the personal tile group as a default for every user, the admin needs to navigate to Settings -> Workspace Management -> Set my default template for ...(New and/or Current users). After the admin has set the default, all users will see this personal tile group in their Personal Space.
  • Example 2:
    If a user creates a personal tile group with several tiles, this will be the personal group for this user only. This cannot be moved to Shared Spaces.
Note: You will never see tiles that you have not been granted access to, even when the admin has pushed these to everyone.

 

Shared tile group(s)
The shared tile group(s) consists out of managed tiles from the admin. The user has no control over these tiles/this group and these are permission-based. The only thing a user can do is change the layout/order of the groups.

  • Example 1:
    If the admin creates a shared tile group with several tiles in the Personal Space, the admin can choose to set permissions to this group. All members of this permission set, will be granted acces to this group. However, the admin can set the visibility of this tile group. Here the admin can decide if the default visibility is set to "visible" or "invisible". If the admin sets the visibility to "visible", this group is always listed on everyone's Personal Space. If the admin chooses "invisible", the group is not listed on the Personal Space, but the user is able to turn it on via the "Groups" drop-down menu.

Shared Space

You are now able to set permissions on shared spaces. A shared space will only be visible to a user if he or she has access to the shared space. However, if a users have permissions The Shared Spaces these will be available for all the users, but will be empty if there are no permissions set to any of the Shared Groups within the Shared Space. A Shared Space can have one or multiple shared tile groups.

Shared tile group(s)
The shared tile group(s) consists of managed tiles from the admin. The user has no control over this group/these tiles and these are permission based. The only thing you can do is change the layout/order of the groups.

  • Example 1:
    If the admin creates a shared tile group with several tiles in a Shared Space, the admin can choose to set permissions to this group. All members of this permission-set, will be granted access to this group. Everyone who has access to this group will see the Shared Space, where the group is located.

 

Back to top

 

Create shared spaces

mceclip5.png

A shared space can only contain shared tile groups and can only be managed by admins. A shared space is visible to every user, the page will only contain a shared group if the user has permissions on this group. Users only see the shared tile groups in a shared space to which they have access.

mceclip3.png

 

mceclip4.png

 

 

Back to top

 

Manage shared spaces

The configured order and visibility of the shared tile groups applies to everyone. This way, you can create templates for different kind of personas and even permanently "pin" certain groups to the top.

 mceclip6.png

 

 

Back to top

 

 

 

Examples

 

Shared group in Shared Space

SharedSpace_second_flow.png

Shared group in Personal Space

Shared_Spaces_diagram_1.png

 

Back to top