Hi ,
Welcome to the Support Portal. How can we help?
Follow

Announcements

Quick reference:
Settings -> Announcements

Table of Contents

 

Introduction

With the Announcement Centre, you can easily inform people in your organization on news, updates, accomplishments or anything else you would like to share by creating announcements. You can push these as a notification or pop-up to a specific group or the entire organization. You can also enable other people within your organization to create announcements.

An announcement is provided in a pop-up, which includes a title, description and optionally an image, video or a link. When the announcement is published, a notification is sent from which the user can open the pop-up. Optionally, the pop-up can be pushed directly to users.

Be cautious who you allow to send announcements, because giving too many people control might lead to a notification overload. Also, be aware of the fact that publishing direct pop-ups may have a large impact on the user experience.

 

Announcement Centre

You can access the Announcement Centre from:

  • Settings, then select Announcements
  • Announcement Live tile, by clicking on the Announcements hyperlink

announcement_center_users.PNG

It has a card based view, just like our App store. You can search for specific announcements or click on one of the categories on the left side to show announcements for a specific category. You can also sort announcements by creation date (new/old) or most popular using the drop-down menu.

The cards contain clickable components. For instance, you can click on the author name to filter all announcements created by the selected author. 

Click on read more to:

  • View the full content
  • Comment
  • React
  • View who published the announcement

On the right side, other announcements will pop up for that specific category, displaying the next and previous announcement. 

announcement_centre.PNG

At this moment, only images can be shown in the 'All announcements' overview. Videos are not yet displayed here. This is only displayed when viewing the full content of the announcement.

Back to top

 

Activate the app

When Announcements is enabled by the admin, users are allowed to add the Announcement live tile to their Workspace.

You can enable the Announcement live tile from the App store. The tile can be found under the Communication category. When enabled, you can add the live tile to your Workspace.

app_store.PNG

Once the app is added to your Workspace, right-click to edit the tile. The tile will be available in various formats and layouts. 

From the format 4x8 and smaller, the live tile is shown without images and videos.

announcements2.PNG

Back to top

 

Create announcements

You can create announcement from:

  • Announcements Live tile, by clicking + icon
  • The Announcements Centre, by clicking on New

announcements_bereiken.PNG

new_announcement.PNG

We suggest using notifications for 'nice-to-read' and show pop-ups directly to users for 'must-read' announcements. 

Back to top

 

Announcement status

In the Announcement Centre, you can filter announcements by three types of status:

  • Planned
  • Published
  • Archived

Bare in mind that announcements that are already publicized cannot be edited anymore after the "Publication end" date. These announcements will end up as archived. Archived announcements are presented in read-only mode.

You can however edit and extend the publication end date after an announcement has been published. 

Back to top

 

Announcement categories

You can create announcement categories by clicking on New (category) under settings > Announcements.

There are three levels of permissions you can set on announcement categories:

  • Who has access: determine who can view announcements within a specific category.
  • Editor: determine who can create, edit and delete announcements within a specific category.
  • Owner: determine who can create, edit and delete announcements within a specific category and manage the category itself.

new_category.PNG

We advise giving users permissions based on groups. Under (settings > Users & Groups) Group management, you can select and edit a group to enable Create and manage all announcements and categories.

Bare in mind that the settings under Group permissions may be overruled by Group permissions:

  • Not set is automatically Deny unless you choose Allow for a group in Group management.
  • Allow is automatically Allow unless you choose Deny for a group in Group management.
  • Deny overrides everything and is always deny for all groups.

Back to top